Minutes of the July 7, 2016 Daviess County Fiscal Court PUBLIC HEARING & Meeting held at the Daviess County, Kentucky Courthouse

Present elected court officials included
Judge/Executive Al Mattingly and County Commissioners Mike Koger,
George Wathen and Charlie Castlen

DOCUMENTS RELATED TO TODAY'S DISCUSSIONS ARE FILED IN THE CORRESPONDING FISCAL COURT FILE

Commissioner Castlen opened the meeting in prayer and led the court in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

A public hearing was held to discuss the discontinuing of a section of Ratcliff Road beginning at the end of the county maintained section of Ratcliff Road to Highway 1207 for an approximate distance of 0.798 miles; application filed by Herbert S. Miller, et. al.

Comments:

No comments received.

Judge Mattingly closed the session and the court opened today's court meeting.

Sheriff Cain introduced newly hired Deputies Alex Coomes, Matt Fitzgerald, Lacey Johnson, and Aaron Stephens. He also presented information on "STOPS" - *Strategies & Tactics of Patrol Stops*. Traffic stops are the most dangerous job responsibility of a police officer. The STOPS program provides new and innovative ideas to officers on how to approach an individual during these routine stops.

Minutes of the June 23, 2016 meeting were submitted to fiscal court members for review prior to today's meeting and on a motion of Commissioner Castlen, seconded by Commissioner Koger with all the Court concurring said Minutes were approved and signed.

By a motion of Commissioner Koger, seconded by Commissioner Castlen, the court considered for approval all Claims for all Departments.

Without further discussion, Judge/Executive Mattingly called for a vote on the motion. All members of the court voted in favor; motion passed.

By a motion of Commissioner Wathen, seconded by Commissioner Koger, the court considered for approval the Order of Allowance to the Board of Assessment Appeals.

Without further discussion, Judge/Executive Mattingly called for a vote on the motion. All members of the court voted in favor; motion passed.

By a motion of Commissioner Koger, seconded by Commissioner Castlen, the court considered for approval an MOA with Toyotetsu Mid America.

This MOA will provide funding from the county's economic development fund to Toyotetsu for \$50,000 to make necessary road improvements for their upcoming 100 square feet, 21 million dollar expansion. The Daviess County Economic Development Committee has reviewed this project and recommends the approval of this incentive. As a result of this expansion, Toyotetsu anticipates hiring an additional 50 employees.

The court expressed gratitude toward Toyotetsu for their continued confidence in Daviess County.

Without further discussion, Judge/Executive Mattingly called for a vote on the motion. All members of the court voted in favor; motion passed.

By a motion of Commissioner Castlen, seconded by Commissioner Wathen, the court considered for approval to Allocate an additional \$500,000 for Road Paving.

County Engineer Mark Brasher said that these additional dollars will be used to pave 11.834 miles of county road already slated for improvement. The following roads associated with these funds include a portion of each Short Station, Indian Hill, McFarland, Possum Trot, and Curdsville Delaware.

Judge Mattingly indicated that the court has discussed a total allocation of 1 million dollars and may soon decide to approve the other \$500,000 for paving improvements.

Without further discussion, Judge/Executive Mattingly called for a vote on the motion. All members of the court voted in favor; motion passed.

By a motion of Commissioner Castlen, seconded by Commissioner Wathen, the court considered for approval to Promote Michael Winchell from Service Technician to Heavy Equipment Operator; DPW effective 7/11/16.

Without further discussion, Judge/Executive Mattingly called for a vote on the motion. All members of the court voted in favor; motion passed.

By a motion of Commissioner Castlen, seconded by Commissioner Wathen, the court considered for approval the **Second Reading of 6-2016; C-8(2016)** - An Ordinance of the Daviess County Fiscal Court and the City of Owensboro Amending the Intra-County Owensboro-Daviess County Code of Ethics.

Comments:

County Attorney Claud Porter explained that this Ethics Ordinance includes minor changes from the previous ordinance such as the change in the names of designated employees as well as a few definitions. As this is a joint city/county ordinance, the two bodies have agreed to uniformly change the document.

Without further discussion, Judge/Executive Mattingly called for a vote on the motion. All members of the court voted in favor; motion passed.

By a motion of Commissioner Wathen, seconded by Commissioner Koger, the court considered for approval to appoint Daniel Castlen & Amber Boarman as Viewers to view the section of Ratcliff Road petitioned to be discontinued.

Without further discussion, Judge/Executive Mattingly called for a vote on the motion. All members of the court voted in favor except for Commissioner Castlen as he abstained; motion passed.

As the July 3rd Fireworks at Panther Creek were canceled due to recent storms, Commissioner Wathen announced the event's rescheduling of September 3.

Mr. Brasher noted that our area usually receives 2-3 inches of rain each July. However, in the past 30 days, we have received in excess of 11 inches, not including today's count. He expressed concern as more rain is forecasted.

Comments:

Judge Mattingly announced the following July 2016 Employee Anniversaries:

- Robbie Hocker, Landfill Manager 20 years
- Gerald Jolly, SW Truck Driver 15 years
- Carl Wright, Parks Maintenance Supervisor 20 years
- Brian Cecil, Firefighter/EMT 10 years
- David Smith, Dir. of Legislative Services 5 years

Without objection, Judge/Executive Mattingly adjourned the meeting. SO ORDERED THAT COURT STAND ADJOURNED.

Judge/Executive:	_ Commissioner: _	Marko Carther
Commissioner: George Wathen	_ Commissioner: _.	Milie Koger
I, duly appointed Clerk of the Daviess County Fiscal Court, do hereby certify that the above Minutes for the corresponding Order Book were approved by the members of the Daviess County Fiscal Court at the regular session of said Court this 21st day of July 2016.		
Jennifer C. Warren, Daviess County Fiscal Co	urt Clerk	